Sending Hearts on Valentine’s Day

I stole borrowed this idea from the creative Terri and James at Gallivance. Check out their blog for their awesome post, “Capturing Hearts around the World.”  When I saw their pics, I immediately thought of my picture of a baby blue door in Oman. I started wondering if I had any other “heart” pics from my travels. Obsessing over pictures the way I do, I couldn’t resist going on a scavenger hunt for hearts in my photo archives. Here are the few I found.  And if you’d like to make some chocolate hearts today instead of looking at pictures of them, check out my sister’s recipe for her delicious Cioccolatini. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Muscat

Muscat

wall of love near the Romeo and Juliet balcony in Verona

wall of love near the Romeo and Juliet balcony in Verona

detail of the carpet I bought in Dubai

detail of the carpet I bought in Dubai

National Day pride in Hatta

National Day pride in Hatta

cappuccinos in Milan

cappuccino in Milan

Sharjah

Sharjah

bakery in Houston

bakery in Houston

Dubai - somewhere near the souks

Dubai – somewhere near the souks

Dubai - Jumeirah 1

Dubai – Jumeirah 1

another door in Jumeirah 1

another door in Jumeirah 1

Dubai - near the Jumeirah Mosque

Dubai – near the Jumeirah Mosque

detail of the front gate of my house in Dubai

detail of the front gate of my house in Dubai

beautiful bread in Vienna

beautiful bread in Vienna

Gold Souk - Dubai

Gold Souk – Dubai

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sending Hearts on Valentine’s Day

  1. Diana says:

    I never knew you were a hearts person…..these are so sweet…of course I am partial to the cappuccino!

  2. Lynda, these are so cool! I love your photos, especially the doors – our doors were very similar when we lived in Khartoum! Small world, huh. I never discovered why that part of the world adored hearts – do you know? Thanks for the very kind shout-out. Hope you have a lovely Valentine’s day – is it celebrated there? ❤ Terri

    • Lynda says:

      Thanks so much Terri. I started to worry that maybe I should have asked you before (not after!) I posted mine! The hearts in the Middle East /Africa are a sweet little unexpected surprise, aren’t they? I always noticed the ones on the backs of the big construction trucks. Sort of funny – the opposite of the big tough-guy image ours have. I’m in houston right now but yes – Vday is celebrated in Dubai. Any excuse for a fancy dinner is generally pretty popular in the UAE 🙂

  3. Love this post, Lynda. The last picture is really impressive and your sister’s recipe looks very tempting 🙂

  4. Very fun…I am starting to carry my camera around…need to take more pics. Document life here! How is Houston??

    • Lynda says:

      That’s great Cindy – you should! I’m so happy I have all my photos. Did you ever take that class at GPP? Houston is great! We’ve been enjoying the weather and doing things outside. I hope your family and friends are surviving the crazy winter in the NE!

  5. Mitzie Mee says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of love:) Happy Valentine’s Day (a bit late..), hope you had lots of hearts and chocolate.

Leave a Reply

