Goodbye Dubai

20140921-210340-75820113.jpg

Surprise! We are moving back to Houston. This move came about fast and furious and voilร , the doors on the container are closed just like that. It’s amazing to think of our furniture, picture frames and recently bought, last-minute Dubai mementos in that generic container, hangin’ with countless other containers on a giant barge, out on the vast ocean. All of our belongings (minus 14 bags we are bringing to the airport – gulp) will meet us stateside in hopefully about two months.

The doors of the blog will close soon too. But I have a few posts left in me before saying goodbye, Dubai. More soon.

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Goodbye Dubai

  1. Judy says:

    Oh wow, that was fast. I’m so sorry, because having had that happen to us on several occasions (30 days notice or less) I know how disorienting it can be. Repatriation is never easy, but doing it with almost no notice sucks. I hope you share your repatriation story as it can be so helpful to others to understand they are not alone. There’s a FB group called Re-entry Stories if you’re interested. Good luck and bon voyage.

    • Lynda says:

      Hi Judy – thanks for the message and tips. Yes, it’s been a whirlwind and although I’m happy to be home, I’m sure that once we get into a normal routine, I’ll experience some unexpected struggles. Will check out the facebook page!

  2. jrhtx2 says:

    Awww so sad to see the truck image, but I bet you guys are ready to be close to family and friends in Texas. I know it you’ll need some time to settle in. Hope to touch base on US soil this fall or winter. Save travels and really enjoyed your blog!

    • Lynda says:

      I know – isn’t that truck pic sad? It’s the perfect image to symbolize the closing of a chapter! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We are so happy to be home though. Hopefully it will be a relatively smooth transition. I hope we get to see each other more now that we are closer! xx

  3. Debbie says:

    Oh my gosh, I am so happy for you and your family. I have to say though, I am very sad for me. I don’t know what I will do without you. I have been reading your blogs for the past few months. My husband has taken a new position with his company and we will be moving to Dubai in January from Houston. I have been hanging on your every word these past few months trying to learn a little about Dubai and the surrounding areas. Good luck with your new adventures!
    Debbie

    • Lynda says:

      Thanks so much for the sweet comment – that means a lot – I’m really happy someone found it helpful ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a few more posts before signing off. You’ll have a great experience! Feel free to email me at longhornsandcamels@gmail.com. We are already back so I can even give you my number if you need to have a chat about any questions or concerns before you guys go. January is a great time of year weather wise so I think you’ll really enjoy it. Take care, Lynda

  4. Diana says:

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh dear. that was fast!! Do you have time for coffee before you head out? Enjoy Texas! My husband just left this morning for Houston…I am sure you will all enjoy being close to family. Just in time to enjoy some cooler weather!

    • Lynda says:

      Hi there! We are already back in Houston – it’s a shame we didn’t get to get together one more time! Yes, the weather so far is just amazing. Although afternoons warm up, mornings are in the 60s. I can’t tell you how much I’m appreciating it! Best of luck to you guys and I’m looking forward to continue following along on your Dubai adventures through your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh my! I’ve heard that ominous sound of the clanking locks on a huge container and felt that sinking feeling in my stomach, crossing my fingers and hoping my possessions arrive on the other side of a vast body of water all in one piece! It’s usually combined with an excited flutter of what new adventure is in store. Best of luck with your move! I’m sure you’ll have a very warm welcome back. And, I agree with Judy, please continue writing about your repatriation experience… and really anything else you’d like to share, because I too love your blog!
    Warm regards,
    Anne ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Lynda says:

      Thanks so much Anne. As always I really appreciate your feedback and support. ๐Ÿ™‚ So true – so many mixed emotions involved with the move. I hope repatriation isn’t too tough. eek.

  7. Bon voyage, Lynda ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish you all the best.

  8. Nikki says:

    Can’t wait to have you back in Houston! โค

  9. safia says:

    Och, that’s kinda sad for all of us who have enjoyed your blog posts and your unique take on the Dubai lifestyle. I really look forward to reading the posts you’ve promised us and hope that, given time, you keep on blogging from Texas – please! Bon voyage and take care of your precious self and your family. Safia x

    • Lynda says:

      Hi Safia – thanks so much – really sweet of you. I regret not reaching out to suggest meeting up – it would have been nice to meet! If you are ever in Texas let me know. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Looking forward to continue following along on your blog. x

  10. Paula Barry says:

    I’ve read your blog since 2012, when I was making my move from Dubai to Houston. Thank you! Best of luck on your new adventure. I feel like an old hand now here in Dubai- and we are soon off to Oman, loving this wacky expat life!

    • Lynda says:

      Oh cool! Thanks so much for reading along. Luck you to be going to Oman! Probably a slower pace but I think the people are so nice, the landscape really beautiful and lots of interesting places to discover – bet you will have a fabulous time! Take care and good luck!

  11. Mitzie Mee says:

    Wow! That’s big news! I was hoping to get a chance to meet you someday, but it probably won’t be in Dubai. Wish you all the best in Houston, -I’ll keep checking in here and I’m looking forward to ready about your new, old life:)

    • Lynda says:

      I know! It would have been nice to meet. I realized too late that I should have made an effort to get together with my blogging friends. It’s one of those things where you think you always have time. Let me know if you ever come to Texas! ๐Ÿ˜Š. Looking forward to continuing to follow along on your adventures.

Leave a Reply

