HEB, How I Love Thee

It’s 3 a.m. and the entire family is wide awake and starving.  Might as well make breakfast!

Jet lag always seems worse for us in the West-to-East direction. We are back from our trip to Texas and the smell of the Texas Pecan coffee brewing is reminding me of HEB, the grocery store I usually go to when home.  When I travel to new places, one of my favorite things to do is going to the local grocery store to scope out what treats from the region are for sale, people watch and get a feel for what the locals are eating.  It’s also my favorite place to buy gifts to bring home. Going back to HEB when I’ve been gone a long time gives me that same giddy feeling.  Texas-themed items seem to jump out of every corner!  Here are a few examples (click on one if you want to read captions).  Hope everyone has had a fabulous summer and safe travels to those who are lucky enough to be vacationing!

 

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to HEB, How I Love Thee

  1. Diana says:

    😦 I miss HEB too! Texas shaped chips?!!?! LOVE, LOVE LOVE IT!!!!

  2. Sharoni says:

    I hear you! We just got back from Houston/Austin a week ago and having HEB withdrawals!

    • Lynda says:

      You did? How’s your jet lag? We are having a really rough time this time around! I didn’t make it to Austin this time – that was disappointing. 😦 I know Texas is hot, but this is just terrible – the humidity – yuck! Anyway – hope you had a great trip!

  3. Mitzie Mee says:

    I also always visit the food stores when I’m traveling, and usually I end up with lots of edible “souvenirs”. Just curious, what is Texas Pecan coffee? 🙂

    • Lynda says:

      It’s a “medium-bodied coffee offering a blend of creamy caramel and Texas pecan flavors that creates a smooth, classic finish true to the Texas taste.” Haha! That comes from the package – sounds a little ridiculous – just a fancy way of saying ground coffee 🙂

  4. spicyessence says:

    Aww love seeing all the Texas stuff.. except for the Texans paraphernalia! Cowboys all the way for me! 🙂 Glad you were able to go home for the summer! I I can’t wait for Christmas time!

    • Lynda says:

      There was a shout-out to the cowboys there in the plastic travel cups – did you see it? 🙂 I’ve had a hard time warming up to the Texans – I still miss the Oilers!

  5. I have no experience with HEB – but I think everybody who travels experience the bereavement of something one can only get at home. And, yes, for me going west to east is always worse than the opposite direction.

Leave a Reply

