Cricket in Dubai

Cricket Dubai

The never-ending heat here in Dubai zapped all of my desire to take pictures.  I think the last time I braved the weather to snap a few photos was back in May in Sharjah and even then my little one year-old sidekick and I were sweaty and exhausted by the end of it.  Not enjoyable.  Fast forward five months later.  While the weather is still beach worthy (and I’m still getting tan lines on my feet from my sandals), it’s finally becoming more comfortable.

When the temperatures cool down, we love to walk places – the grocery store, restaurants, cafes, the beach – whatever is nearby.  Ever since we moved here, I’ve been passing guys playing cricket on weekend walks to the store.  I’m always paranoid about getting smacked on the head by a fly ball so I usually run past with the kids so we don’t get knocked out.  I put my fear aside this weekend though and hung out long enough to take a few pictures. After watching these guys for a couple of hours, I can only surmise that the game is a bit like baseball, but aside from that, I don’t know a thing about how it’s played.  I know it’s a very popular sport on the Indian subcontinent, in Sri Lanka and Australia (among other places), so not surprisingly, these guys in this particular area are Sri Lankan.  There are similar places all over the city where players turn sandy spots and concrete spaces into cricket pitches.

This gives you an idea of the size of the space

This gives you an idea of the size of the space where multiple games are being played.

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

This picture would not have been possible even just a couple of weeks ago.  The Burj Khalifa is just re-emerging from the perma-haze that blankets the city for a solid five months.

This picture would not have been possible even just a couple of weeks ago. The Burj Khalifa is just re-emerging from the perma-haze that blankets the city for a solid five months.

cricket dubai

Just watching these guys pitch exhausts me.  I think throwing the ball one time would wear me out and then I’d join the spectators under the trees.

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

This truck driver pulled up while I was taking pictures.  He asked me to take some shots of him so he could send them to his family in Pakistan.  He was proud of his truck and wanted to make sure I took one of him in front of it.  I came back at the time I thought we had agreed to meet so I could give him the prints, but he wasn’t there. I wonder if he came at a different time, waited, and then left disappointed and empty-handed or if he simply forgot. I really hope it’s the latter.

Truck driver Dubai

Truck driver Dubai

I sat watching the players, snapping freely, relatively unnoticed.  Every once in a while, I would ask to take someone’s picture if we made eye contact, or they would ask me to take one of them.

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

Cricket Dubai

DSC_0433

Clearly I’m no sports photographer, but it was fun to take pictures again and I’m looking forward to coming out of my cave now that the weather is cooling down. 🙂

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day living in Dubai and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cricket in Dubai

  1. Kris says:

    Great photos (as always!). They all look so happy :o). Aah cricket… the great British legacy on the world… I have lived in the UK for almost 10 years and i still dont understand it….lol, but people seem to be very passionalte about it.

    • Ha! So funny I didn’t even mention the UK. Oops. It is so true – they were very happy! From my (not terribly extensive) experience, Sri Lankans are super nice people anyway, but these guys seemed so carefree out there and seemed to be really enjoying themselves – lots of smiling and laughing – sorta reminded me of boys at the playground, very content to be playing ball. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  2. diana says:

    the truck driver part just broke my heart!

  3. safia says:

    Fantastic pics – these are the kind of photos I love to see as they really capture the character of a place, away from the malls, beaches, etc. I bet you could trace the truck driver through The Gulf News (get some publicity for your blog too) or even through the Police – you have captured the number plate pretty well in one of the photos. Yay – the first Texan detective in Dubai 🙂

    • Thank you Safia for the compliment and for the GREAT idea! You’re a genius! 🙂 I’m surprised that I didn’t think of that myself – ha! (nor did my sister who commented above – and she is the research queen.) Will have to see what I can do with it…

  4. I love the contrast of the colorful shirts against the dusty brown of the surroundings! Looking forward to some photography when we arrive!

  5. It always amazes me that the cricketers will find any semi-empty parking lot to play in. It is a really grounding moment to see every day people doing what they love.

    • Lynda says:

      I agree – I really appreciate seeing these guys enjoying their sport. For some reason I feel like these moments are more meaningful in Dubai than they might be in other cities.

Leave a Reply

