Home is…

Two of my sisters and I traveled home this summer to join the rest of the family in Texas.  It was the first time the entire family has been together in four years!

map

I’ve lived in Dubai for almost three years now, but I still carry around my camera like a fresh-off-the-plane tourist.  When I’m in Texas, I’m usually too busy with family and friends to think about taking pictures, so the following is not comprehensive, but just a sampling of what home means to me.

Home is:

old family recipes and lots of big family meals.

DSC_4654

Cold treats on a hot summer’s day.

DSC_4697-2

Majestic oak trees

DSC_4738-2

Satisfying food cravings (including my mother’s cooking, chicken fried steak, kolaches, bbq, guacamole with hatch chilies and countless tex mex meals, yum!)

DSC_4677

Familiar scenes of national patriotism and state pride

DSC_4684

Did I mention state pride?  (The grocery store is such a great place to find the most random assortment of items in the shape of Texas.  The longer I’m gone, the more I want to buy them.  On this trip I discovered that tortilla chips in the shape of Texas are not only amusingly kitschy but also very functional – the perfect shape for scooping up salsa and guac!)

securedownload

Pick up trucks, and lots of ’em

DSC_4751-2

Spontaneous fun and front yards to play in

IMG_7249-2

We are back in Dubai now, and I suspect that most expats are starting to trickle back into the city.  Hope everyone who traveled home for the summer enjoyed their trip as much as we did!

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Texas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Home is…

  1. I’m home in Virginia now, for good, and I know the feeling! Except since I’m settling back for the long haul, I’m feeling a little reverse culture shock. I’m glad you enjoyed your time back home. 🙂

  2. Sharoni says:

    I just returned to Dubai after a few weeks home in Houston – I feel nostalgic just reading your post and seeing the photos!

  3. Judy says:

    Great photos! I really missed “real” trees when I was in Dubai too. It never occurred to me before I left how important landscape is to my sense of home.

    • I’d imagine that’s especially true coming from somewhere as beautiful as Canada. It’s sooooo comforting to see familiar landscape – the giddy feeling for me starts from the windows on the plane when landing.

  4. Returning from home leave is always bitter sweet! Just getting over the jet lag from a couple months in Canada! You do tend to OD on your ‘favorite things’ when going back home. There are a few extra lbs that need to go away!

    • Oh my gosh tell me about it! Even my 6 year old suggested we eat “something a little lighter” after our umpteenth mexican meal. Oh well – I don’t regret one bite! 🙂 Hope you’re sleeping soundly now. So far it’s not going too great in our house…

  5. Erco Travels says:

    Wonderful post with lovely pictures!

  6. O wow, thanks for sharing your experience. I have really enjoyed reading your very well written blog posts.

  7. spicyessence says:

    Love your pictures of Houston! I am from Dallas originally so even though Houston is very different from Dallas, it really made me homesick!!

  8. Brandy says:

    We are moving to dubia next month. I am from houston, and was wondering how can I call my family back in Houston for free or what is the cheapest yet affordable way to call houston from dubia. We have a Vonage line will that work x what’s the best mobile network? Thank you for your help.

Leave a Reply

