Dubai’s Souks – A Photographic Tour

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted any pictures of the souks.  I look back at the last time I posted pictures almost two years ago, and I remember how new it all felt:  the hustle and bustle, the diversity, the colors.  All of it contributes to a sense of vibrancy and authenticity that I still love, even though many visits have diminished the excitement that comes with the thrill of discovery.  Here are some photos of the souks, creek and Bastakiya (old historical part of town) taken since those first few visits.

Dubai Creek

Dubai creek

Dubai souks

Dubai souks

Dubai souks

dubai wind tower laundry

The area near the Hindu temple was fragrant with the sweet smell of fresh flowers during Diwali, when this photo was taken.

The area near the Hindu temple was fragrant with the sweet smell of fresh flowers during Diwali, when this photo was taken.

Dubai souk

Dubai souk

Dubai souk

Dubai gold souk

The mannequins in the souk, for some strange reason, are always white with blond hair and blue eyes.

The mannequins in the souk, for some strange reason, are always white with blond hair and blue eyes.

Dubai souk

Dubai souk

Dubai soukDubai souk

Yes, ice cream made from camel milk, including saffron flavor!

Yes, ice cream made from camel milk, including saffron flavor!

Women here who wear a veil often have a big poof on top of their head which gives their veil a lot of height. I imagined a large bun underneath, piled high with thick beautiful hair. Instead, it's often one of these! I discovered this at a gym where many local women worked out.

Women here who wear a veil often have a big poof on top of their head which gives their veil a lot of height. I imagined a large bun underneath, piled high with thick beautiful hair. Instead, it’s often one of these! I discovered this at a gym where many local women worked out.

Dubai souk

Iranian mosque

Iranian mosque

Dubai souk

Dubai souk

Traffic on the creek

Traffic on the creek

Dubai souk

Dubai souk

Look how nice and smiley these workers are. They seem friendly. Hey, Chels, why don't you take a picture with them?

Look how nice and smiley these workers are. They seem friendly. Hey, Chels, why don’t you take a picture with them?

Ugh. Are we naive or what?! When I realized what was going on, I snatched my friend and we quickly left the area. Somehow I snapped this pic when I was still in la la land and my friend was blissfully unaware.

Ugh. Are we naive or what?! When I realized what was going on, I snatched my friend and we quickly left the area. Somehow I snapped this pic when I was still in la la land and my friend was blissfully unaware.

Dubai bastakiya

Dubai Bastakiya

I love the colorful stairs in this otherwise very neutral space

I love the colorful stairs in this otherwise very neutral space

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Playing tourist - attractions and activities and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dubai’s Souks – A Photographic Tour

  1. diana says:

    these are fabulous in every way! beautiful AND…eeehhhmmm….funny! great post!!!!

  2. Judy says:

    The best bits of Dubai!

  3. Marthafied says:

    It looks all so very exotic to Europeans like me… I would go absolutely crazy over all the jewellery…lol…

    • It’s exotic to Texans like me, too. 🙂 Although I have to admit it’s not as fascinating as it once was. I get overwhelmed by the countless jewelry shops so I’ve never bought anything there! I should before we move though…

  4. Thanks for the lovely pictures, my husband and I are planning a trip to Dubai in late Feb, early March. I am looking forward to visiting the souks.

  5. Great photos of the Dubai souks! Thanks for visiting my blog and if you ever come to Nizwa (before June 26 when I leave), let me know!

  6. Laura says:

    Love your images! Such a colorful tour….

  7. Holy smokes…… Your photos are exquisite. They are what mine wanna be when they grow up! The souk photos have perfectly captured the atmosphere and vibrancy of that area. Too bad we can’t create “smell-o-vision”, huh?

  8. Thanks for sharing this interesting blog and your pictures are amazing. Holidays to Dubai gives you the opportunity to stay in some of the world’s best hotels, shop in different malls and Souks, and spend time enjoying the beautiful beaches.

Leave a Reply

