Stop the Press … It’s Raining!

This morning we woke up to overcast skies.  Then, lo and behold, we saw a few downright dark gray clouds! I’ve seen fleeting stints of rain about 3 times in the two years we’ve lived in Dubai.  But today is different because it’s well into the evening and it’s still dark and drizzly. What a treat!  We very nearly forgot what that invigorating pre-rain breeze feels like, how damp grass smells, the crackling, sometimes intimidating sound of thunder.  It’s comforting to be reminded of these things again.

5 take-aways from a rare rainy day in Dubai:

  1. Being liberated from your sunglasses for one day is nice.  
  2. You thought drivers in Dubai couldn’t get any more dangerous or idiotic until you throw in a little rain and slight flooding.  It’s reminiscent of Houston drivers navigating icy conditions.
  3. You’re reminded that umbrellas have another use besides acting as a shield from skin-baking heat.
  4. You notice for the first time the tiny little “gutters” that line major streets and how ill-equipped they are to keep up with even a little rain.  Case in point, this photo was taken this morning after some sprinkling and about 15 minutes of real rain.

Image 

  5.  It’s probably a good idea to have your windshield wipers checked every once in a while.  It’s likely the blades have been scorched into a crumbly blade of inefficiency since last time you used them.

Excuse me while I climb back into bed or watch movies curled up on the couch.  Have a great weekend everyone!

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day living in Dubai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stop the Press … It’s Raining!

  1. NanaBread says:

    I can only imagine how wonderful this must be when rain is so rare and unexpected. You hit the nail on the head with Houston drivers in icy conditions. Have mercy! Those folks lose their ever-loving minds (which is why I opt to stay home in my PJ’s, drink coffee & watch old movies on rare icy days). It has been dry in Houston lately, but nothing compared to where you are! Happy holidays to you & your family. -jeanne

    • I must admit, I’m one of those crazy How-the-heck-do-you-drive-on-ice Houstonians. I also prefer to stay home on those days so I don’t endanger those around me. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and a very happy holiday to you too!

  2. Jenny says:

    Now that I’ve visited, I look even more forward to your posts. I feel like I’m in on the inside scoop and get the “lingo” that much more. OMG, the flooding looks like the City after Sandy. Now those car washer guys with their European shaped potty water hose contraptions will get a day off! I bet they aren’t happy about that.

    You did hit the nail on the head about icy conditions and Houston, but with me growing up in Big- D I’ll just insert my home city into your sentence. =)

    Aww cozy up with that snuggle bug baby you have too. I wish I was there and we could watch the “City of Life” and giggle together about it!

    Have a great weekend. Much hugs, J

    • That’s so funny you brought up the car washers – I almost put a tid bit about them in my list because mysteriously – they were STILL on the job at the mall parking lot. Weird. I figure they were mighty bored today. Those poor guys just don’t get a break. I totally wish you could come back! I’m still mad I got sick and you had to stay in the house of doom and gloom with all the coughing. 😦 love to you and Daniel. xxx

  3. Judy says:

    Rain in Dubai is a little like a snow day in Canada, normal life grinds to a halt and everyone is mesmerized by the weather. Enjoy!

  4. Totally reminds me of my Doha Days! Great post and awesome blog. Love the title, very creative! 🙂

  5. Diana says:

    WHOOOHOOO!!!!!! LOVE THE RAIN!!!! ha, ha, ha….I guess I cannot believe that we were there for 4 days and got rain for the first day and half!!!!! FUNNY!!! Hope you had a cozy day!!!!

Leave a Reply

