Christmas in July

I’ve heard summers here compared to harsh winters in very cold countries since people try to not venture out much.  And now that Ramadan has started, it does feel a bit like  Christmastime because the streets and stores are very quiet during the day. In the spirit of being snowed in, I’ve tried to create an atmosphere in the house that will trick us into thinking it’s cold by doing things like cranking the A/C, listening to Billie Holiday (one of my favorite cold-weather artists), and making hot chocolate and marshmallows for the boys, but um … it still feels like one hot summer.  Sigh.

Since there’s no denying the reality of what’s outside my door (yesterday was 115 F (46C), I might as well lapse into nostalgia.  I managed to write about our visits to Italy and Texas last summer, but never got around to England and Spain.  Last year we were lucky enough to make the rounds and see everyone from both sides of the family.  After visiting my wonderful sis and her family in Italy, we ventured off to fun in the sun in Spain, spending time with my husband’s family.  Last stop before heading home to Texas was the English countryside for a family get together, celebrating Abuelo’s 60th birthday.  Oh, how we relished every last minute of the dreary, misty, chilly, cloudy, rainy weather.  Here are a few pics from those trips.  ps – I promise I won’t complain about the weather anymore after this post. 🙂

As my husband always reminds me, I probably have a million pictures of the Malaga cathedral. But I am always excited when I see it from a different perspective.

Mmmmm, jamon. I love that it’s hanging overhead at a bar.

the town of Mijas at sunset

the famous donkeys of Mijas (or “burro taxis”)

I am still amazed by Spaniards’ sense of time. This pic of a busy playground was taken around 9 pm. Yes, I know it’s still daylight (sunset is around 9:30) but still….

pretty English countryside in the Cotswolds

Cousins enjoying a big open green field to run through

pretty English garden

charming town of Prestbury

Prestbury was full of lovely little streets

Bottles left for the milk man? Really? The pace of life here was a refreshing change.

amazing historical richness

super old cemetery

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas in July

  1. Shannon says:

    Nice. I’d love to go there!

  2. The Cotswolds and Spain have been on my bucket list for some time. Thanks for sharing your gorgeous photos. Just confirms that both locations are still high on my list. I don’t know how you stand that summer heat! 115F is incredible. I can see why everyone is tempted to turn down the AC and stay in. It prevents spontaneous combustion. 🙂

  3. I remember that oppressive heat! We’re in Canada right now and actually had to add another blanket on the bed last night. Brrr! I prefer being warm but at least it heats up here during the day, which makes it a happy medium. Great photos of your travels last summer. Thanks for sharing.

    Cheers,
    Anne

  4. munchow says:

    Looks like a lovely place that you captured in a telling way. A very nice post.

Leave a Reply

