Heat

This picture pretty much says it all. 

Yep, 106 degrees.  (that’s 41.1 for the Celsius crew)  By 8:30 am, it’s already 95 degrees.  (35 C)

Coming from Houston, I’ve spent plenty of summers sweating and suffering, so I’ve been really curious about how hot, and more importantly, how uncomfortable it gets here.  Does hot even feel hotter once you surpass 110?  I guess it won’t be long until I find out.  It isn’t too humid here yet (although I hear it’s coming), so that makes it a bit more bearable than if it was 106 in Houston.

Earlier this week, the restless wind was whipping up the sand and dust into a big, foggy mess.  The entire Burj Khalifa was barely visible through the haze, and the heat beat down with uncompromising persistence.  “This is my introduction to summer-time in the desert,” I thought.  Oh, wait, it’s still spring…

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day living in Dubai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heat

  1. Kellie says:

    ahh just wait for the inferno to begin….doesn’t get much worse will hit 50C I am sure but not as humid as Houston for the most part so it is easier. Just remember to not leave any liquids, lip balm etc in the car and if you have leather seats I suggest a towel. Have fun!

    • Yes, leaving things in the car is my specialty, so will have to look out for that. Have already spotted a crayon or two that I was quick to take out! The thought of 50 degrees sends me into a state of panic. Thanks Kels! 🙂

  2. Jenny says:

    OMG… and we thought Texas was hot! When I was in Morocco it was that hot, but somehow dry so when you were in the shade, not so bad… I imagine no such relief there?

  3. Judy says:

    There are only 2 seasons in Dubai – Hot and Damn Hot. I do not miss Damn Hot at all 🙂

Leave a Reply

