Sick of Being Sick

1 household in the last 3 ½ weeks:

4 ear infections

2 cases of tonsillitis

1 sinus infection

3 bouts of vomiting

3 cases of conjunctivitis (pink eye)

6 trips to the doctor

5 sets of antibiotics and a ridiculous amount of other medicine

2 cancelled trips (including hotel and flight)

Instead of taking this:

We took this:

 

Instead of seeing this:

We’ll see more of this:

 

I know it’s normal to get sick a lot when you move to a new place, but C’MON!! 

Interestingly, some things are remarkably easier here in Dubai than at home when it comes to being ill – namely – getting your hands on some antibiotics.  For instance, when I had pink eye in Houston, I had to go to an optometrist for 2 visits (pay around $250) and pay for my prescription of eye drops ($25 co-pay).  Then my insurance declined my claim for the optometrist because I didn’t first get a referral from a general practitioner. Are three doctor visits really necessary to diagnose and treat pink eye?  Apparently not in Dubai.  Here, I just walked into a pharmacy, spent $3 on the same antibiotic eye drops I bought in Houston, and went on my merry way.  Likewise, when I was filling prescriptions for my children, I explained to the pharmacist some symptoms I was having (the sinus infection) and he asked if I wanted some antibiotics.  I looked around suspiciously – “Um, is that okay?  You know… (whisper) without a prescription?”  I felt like I was doing a shady drug deal!  He gave them to me, I paid $12 (without insurance) and thankfully started feeling better so I could do a better job of taking care of my sick kids.  (Although it still took a trip to the doctor and a second round of antibiotics to totally clear up the infection.)  I know it’s really not the best idea to give people such freedom to buy antibiotics, but in this case – one less trip to the doctor was a huge relief!

Right now we’re down to one sick child who has had fever of up to 103 for five days now.  Let’s hope he gets better SOON and we all STAY well!

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features stories about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day living in Dubai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick of Being Sick

  1. Tavia says:

    Sorry to hear all that Lynda, hope you all are feeling better soon & can reschedule that awesome looking trip! Take care, I fully believe in acidophilus (high amounts) for keeping up kids natural immunity & my own, you should try that, over 3 billion a day!

Leave a Reply

