Hogs in the UAE

My husband loves motorcycles but unfortunately for him, I don’t love the idea of him riding them.  He used to own a bike but once we had kids, he sold it.  Poor, deprived soul.  (ahem, for the record, I didn’t force him to sell it, although I may have dropped a few subtle hints here and there. :)  ) As it turns out, he’s not alone though because several friends I’ve talked to have said, “Oh my husband used to have a bike, but he sold it when we had kids.” Apparently this is a common phenomenon!  

When his 40th birthday rolled around, I figured he could use a little something to remind him of those carefree, independent days.  So I hopped on the internet, looking for motorcycle rental companies.  This is when I came across Prestige Motorcycles.  They offer Harley rentals and tours (visit their website for more info). I am a nervous type and will think through every possible terrible scenario so you can imagine what I was thinking when I was considering sending my husband, who hasn’t ridden a motorcycle in ages, out on a bike in a country full of completely self-absorbed, idiotic drivers.  As soon as I saw that they offered tours I thought, “A-ha! Perfect! At least he’ll be more visible in a group and he’ll likely be with experienced riders.”

I called and spoke to Serge, a Canadian man who owns the company with his family.  He could not have been more friendly, reassuring and knowledgeable.  He really put me at ease and got me excited about my gift.  I drove out to the Green Community where the showroom is located and marveled at the big selection of beautiful bikes.  They were shiny, massive and just gorgeous!  He asked if my husband likes loud bikes. “Nah,” I said. “He doesn’t care too much about that.” “Really?”  he asked, skeptically.  Then he cranked one up and I have to admit even I got excited by the rumble! I knew he’d love it.

He ended up going on the East Coast tour which leaves around 8 am and returns around 6 pm, going through Hatta and Fujairah.  It’s a great combination of scenery: beach, desert and mountains.  There are a few pit stops for coffee and lunch, so it’s a leisurely pace, but there’s plenty of riding time.  Other tours are available to Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and more.  Check the website for more info.

This is a unique and exciting way to see the UAE if you or someone you know has a motorcycle license.  Serge and his team are so accommodating and attentive and go out of their way to make the day an unforgettable experience. He had a personalized gift certificate made to present to my husband on his birthday and was understanding when I wanted to change the date of the ride.  At the end of the tour, he gave my husband a disc of video clips and photos from the day, along with a laminated certificate of sorts that featured some cute pictures.  These special touches and his genuine interest in making it a special day really made the experience memorable. My husband and I both highly recommend it.  Check it out and have fun on your hog! :)

motorcycle tour Dubai

Sheikh Zayed Mosque Fujairah

Sheikh Zayed Mosque Fujairah

motorcycle tour Dubai

**Photos courtesy of Prestige Motorcycles.  This review is an honest account of our experience and was not sponsored.

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features commentary about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Playing tourist - attractions and activities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hogs in the UAE

  1. Diana says:

    Lyn! Thank bike is just soooo cool! Gosh…Umberto is turning 40 this year too…he will be lucky to get a tiny vespa ride in Rome…ha, ha, ha, ha…..

  2. If I rode motorcycles, this would be fun! I don’t think my husband has ever ridden one…I was at the Jumeria beach a few weeks ago, a group rode by, with someone making a video. Impressive.

    • Lynda says:

      The motorcycle scene seems to be growing here. I’ve been wanting to check out Biker’s Cafe but still have never been. I hear Sheikh Mohammed is a fan. :) There’s another location in Fujairah that they went to on the tour.

  3. spicyessence says:

    You’re such a great wife! :) My husband had a motorcycle license, but once we got married he “dropped” the idea of a motorcycle..

    • Lynda says:

      Ha! I was super nervous all day long. :) Maybe your hubby can ride one next time you come to Dubai. He doesn’t have to do a tour and I’m sure Serge could suggest some places to go where there isn’t much traffic.

  4. Yes. Sigh. We men really do give up a lot of the things that kept us young, don’t we? (Dives beneath the desk to avoid shower of stones incoming!)

    I never rode bikes, but my equivalent was VW Beetles and (later) Kombi vans. When I settled down (…) I ruefully dismissed them all as ‘a young man’s car’. Last September I reminisced about them in a blog-post called just that (“A young man’s car”). Those of you – and your husbands – who feel nostalgic about the vehicles of your youth will agree with me, as much as with Lynda. I’m not sure how I would react if my wife bought me a tour in a Beetle, though; I might just burst into tears.

    • Lynda says:

      Well, you may have to give up a few things, but I’d like to think you gain much more. ;)

      I was just remembering how my dream car (that I never owned) for the longest was a VW Cabriolet Convertible. It made me a little sad and a bit wistful that I had forgotten all about that. I feel worlds away from being able to drive around town in a small, boxy convertible.

      I was just reading your blog the other day and enjoyed the post about creatures and snakes and life in Australia. I like the boiling water technique! If I ever come across one, I’ll have to remember that.

  5. Nikki says:

    Happy Birthday, Henry! Looking good! =)

  6. Mitzie Mee says:

    My husband also really, really wants a bike, but we are aware that he might end up killing himself, if he gets one. I’ve therefore suggested that I’ll buy him a Segway instead, when he turns 40:)

  7. Marthafied says:

    What a thoughtful gift! I personally have never understood the lure of the motorcycles (I am such a girl…lol) but to go out of your way to find out about a tour company and arrange that all for him…what a fab way to say happy 40th! You may have now gotten him hooked to motorcycle tours…lol!

  8. What a wonderful gift! I’m sure he must have been thrilled to be back on the bike, if only for a day. And I love the concept that Serge and his company provides, I do not have a motorcycle license myself but even I would be tempted to try it out.

  9. What a cool birthday gift. I gave my husband an airplane ride in a small airplane one year. It was a two-seater and he got to handle the controls. He was thrilled with the gift. Cheaper than buying a middle-aged man an airplane… I loved the pictures and hearing about the ride! :-)

    • Lynda says:

      Thanks! :) Wow – I bet your husband loved that! What is it about men and motorcycles and planes? I am a fan of “service/experience” types of gifts these days. Men are too hard to buy “things” for.

  10. I love bike riding but yeah its too dangerous so was forced to quite after having a small accident that cause me a fracture in foot. Perfect birthday Gift btw win a heart :)

    • Lynda says:

      I’m happy to hear it wasn’t serious. Everyone I know who’s ridden a bike for a while has had an accident at some point. That’s why I don’t like them! Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

