Holiday spirit

I’m not sure what happened this year, but this has turned into one of those holiday seasons where I’m constantly behind, rushed and frazzled.  I think it started when my son broke his arm the day before Thanksgiving.  Then my 18 month-old decided to start catapulting herself nose-first out of her crib, which necessitated a move to a toddler bed.  Frankly, I greatly prefer the safety and confinement of her miniature jail spacious crib, ideally for the next two years.  Apparently, she disagrees. Who has time for teaching a baby to stay in the bed when there are presents to buy and Christmas cards to write? (apologies to anyone who doesn’t get a card this year!)

After I realized I hadn’t posted anything all month, I thought I’d cheat and just link to an older post I wrote about what Christmas is like in Dubai (and the UK).

And here are a few pics of the Christmas season so far this year.

Wafi Mall

Wafi Mall, Dubai

Winter in Dubai: opaque, cloudless skies and 80F

Winter in Dubai: opaque, cloudless skies and 80F

I realized this year that Christmasy camels are taking over my holiday decor.

And lastly, I had intended to write a “thank you” post in the spirit of Thanksgiving, but since that boat has sailed, I thought I’d write a Christmas card of sorts to readers and take a minute to thank people for reading my blog.  It’s coming up on three years (hard to believe) and I so appreciate everyone who takes the time to read through my posts.  Thank you!

I’d like to specifically thank the following two bloggers  who have nominated me for the Shine On and Liebster awards.  I’m sorry I never answered the accompanying questions, but  I am very grateful nonetheless!

Top of the Tent (a well-written blog by Irish expat in Ras Al Khaimah)

We’ll Always Have Casablanca (a interesting perspective of Morocco from American expat)

I also wanted to send a special thanks to people who comment on posts. I think everyone who writes a blog can agree that comments make blogging so much more interesting. I realize everyone is busy and reads countless things on the internet, so I am really grateful when someone takes the time to write a thought or two.  To the “top commenters,” I very much appreciate your feedback! (These include: Expatriate Life, (a useful blog featuring expat tips and anecdotes about expat life) Marthafied (a fabulous lifestyle blog out of London that keeps me up to date on pop culture, fashion and countless other things), Writing Just Beacuse (an interesting blog about writing, publishing and expat life),  Live Clay (a witty blog about life in New Mexico, chickens :) and beautiful ceramics/art) and In Flow (thought-provoking blog by a talented professional photographer). Even if you’ve just left one comment along the way, thank you so much for expressing interest in this little project of mine.

Happy holidays everyone!

About Lynda

Longhorns and Camels is a blog about exploring Dubai from the perspective of an expat from Texas. It features commentary about living in Dubai including descriptions of local culture and popular activities in the region. It also includes photography of the UAE and other countries abroad. It has been recommended by several well-known guides for expatriates: InterNations, ExpatWoman and Expat Focus.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day living in Dubai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Holiday spirit

  1. joanfrankham says:

    And a happy Christmas to you, I hope you get to enjoy the rest of the build up and atmosphere.

  2. Enjoy and Have a Happy Christmas .

  3. Judy says:

    Dont feel bad, we all fall off the blogging bandwagon once in a while. Just enjoy Christmas and we look forward to more gorgeous photos in the new year. Have a good one! :)

  4. Happy holidays! Love that tree in the Wafi Mall; we’d expect nothing less from UAE. :-)

  5. Mitzie Mee says:

    Christmas camels? How could I miss them! Though I’m seriously considering getting a Christmas palm instead of a Christmas tree..

  6. Laura says:

    Aw, thanks for the shout out, much appreciated :) I really enjoy reading your posts whenever possible — you’re right, sometimes I’m so inundated with all things internet that I just can’t get to everything. I love the pictures here. Oh, and one other thing we now have in common — my daughter also broke her arm at 18 mos! I was mortified–surgery, pins, the whole works. I was the guiltiest mother ever. You can see a picture of the grim aftermath at the end of this post http://liveclay.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/im-pretty-sure-i-gave-birth-to-the-christ-child-15-years-ago-today/ (sorry for the gigantism of the images! When I switched WP themes, all of my pictures from old posts became huge and I haven’t had the time to fix :/) Happy Dubaidays!

    • Luckily, it was my 6 year old who broke his arm and not the baby. (Not that I want him to break his arm, but you know what I mean) He was actually asking if it was possible for a baby to break his/her arm, finding it hard to get his mind around a tiny cast on such a tiny body. I can’t imagine how difficult that would be! Mine was at school when it happened, so some of the guilt was alleviated, although I do think back to days at the park when I should have told him to stop being such a daredevil on the swings. Anyway, Happy New Year! :)

  7. safia says:

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry to hear about your son’s accident and then the transition from crib to bed – ah, yes, I remember it well – I didn’t sleep well for a few weeks, so totally understand why you’re frazzled. This is still a lovely post though – love the camels and the falling snow, but now I know why you didn’t manage to enter the expats blog contest. Thanks for the above mention much appreciated and have a happy, relaxing holiday. :-)
    PS: If you can manage it, could you please visit my competition entry and leave a comment:
    http://www.expatsblog.com/contests/835/sometimes-its-little-things-that-mean-the-most
    Thank you so much.

  8. spicyessence says:

    Hey there! The tree picture at Wafi Mall is beautiful! After visiting Dubai last week and walking around and seeing all the beautiful Christmas decorations and trees, it was a little depressing to be back here and not see all the pomp and circumstance! But what to do!

    Seems like you have a lot going on right now, but take a deep breath and enjoy the time with your loved ones!!

    Have a wonderful Christmas!!

  9. Jo says:

    Lynda
    As always love reading your posts. Hugs to the little guys and the big un, enjoy Christmas. Miss you all xxx

  10. Happy belated holidays Lynda! I too am a camel ornament lover and made one when we lived in Khartoum. I think it’s the long eyelashes that infatuate me. :) We wish you a very Happy New Year. We have so enjoyed getting to know you this year and look forward to more of your wonderful posts. :) ~ Terri & James

    • Thanks for the lovely comment – I always appreciate your thoughtful comments and responses. Happy New Year to both of you too – I always look forward to your posts and can’t wait to see where you are off to next! :)

Leave a Reply

